If a Clod bee washed away by the Sea, Europe is the less… because I am involved in Mankinde.

Ooh, a good book! It’s been too long. I now love Hemingway. But enough about that, I’ll write about the book when I finish it, just wanted to post the quote that starts the book, a quote by John Donne:

No man is an Iland, intire of itselfe; every man is a peece of the Continent, a part of the maine; if a Clod bee washed away by the Sea, Europe is the lesse, as well as if a Promontorie were, as well as if a Manor of thy friends or of thine owne were; any mans death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankinde; And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; It tolls for thee.

Whoa. Took me a while to figure out the Olde English, but when I did… Here is a newer version, but somehow the modern language makes it bland. Watered-down. I love old English. I love all old languages for that matter. Or new ones. Or in-between ones. But here’s the quote, newer version:

No man is an island entire of itself; every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main; if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as well as any manner of thy friends or of thine own were; any man’s death diminishes me, because I am involved in mankind. And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.

~ av christa89 på maj 20, 2008 - 10:27.

2 svar to “If a Clod bee washed away by the Sea, Europe is the less… because I am involved in Mankinde.”

  1. What is the meaning of ”manner” in your translation? The term ”manor” in the original text means a unit of land in England under feudal system

Kommentera

 
