Doorway

For Velvet Verbosity’s 100 word challenge. This week’s prompt: doorway.

A door has unlocked, and I open it eagerly, unassumingly. I see possibilities, dreams, challenges. I see what could be, what I could be. I also see – too clearly – what will happen if I fail. For the higher the goal, the steeper the road, and the more devastating the fall. I’m scared of heights.

I stand there in the doorway and so I hesitate, silently cursing my innocent overconfidence, for what lies ahead petrifies me. Turning, I search for my world of habit, my safe routines. But behind me, the world is folding in on itself – I must go on.

~ av christa89 på december 31, 2008 - 17:52.

3 svar to “Doorway”

  1. I love that imagery of the world behind ”folding in on itself”. That’s so true, isn’t it? That sometimes we are forced to move forward because the option to go back just isn’t there.

    Well done.

  2. Whoa that’s deep! I love it!

  3. That is how we feel so often, overconfident, until the time comes and we must act. Great imagery.

    http://whileyoureup.blogspot.com/2009/01/100-word-challenge-doorway.html

Kommentera

 
