Let the early birds eat worms!

It seems there’s some kind of cut-off at 3 am and 8 am. Between those hours everything in me screams: You. Should. Not. Be. Conscious! My systems try to shut down. There are springs in my eyelids: each time I manage to pry them open they snap shut again. My body temperature sinks, so I’m freezing all the time. When I talk, I’m not actually sure what I’m saying. I try to avoid talking. I curl up into a ball. My thoughts are thick and fuzzy, and there is a remarkable reduction in both quantity and quality.

This means that I do as good work at 7:30 am as I would at 3:30 am. I try to look human. I don’t.

One time it was my job to help wait tables at breakfast, starting at 7. The person in charge always sent me straight to the coffee. ”You’re no use until you’ve had at least one cup of coffee”, she told me. What could I say? It’s true…

~ av christa89 på januari 22, 2009 - 17:25.

Kommentera

 
