The Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger

Another book on the list of 1001 books you have to read before you die. This isn’t one I’d have on the list, though, even if I was rather desperate because I’d only thought up 300 books so far for the list and still need 701. Which isn’t the case because I’m not making a list.

Ahem, where was I? The book isn’t bad, it’s just not so good. What it does best is portray how life was to an average New-Yorker youth in the… 1940’s? Something like that. Still, is this worth all the fame? Hardly. Read it for school, if you have to, and then forget about it.

~ av christa89 på februari 23, 2009 - 12:56.

3 svar to “The Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger”

  1. noooooo. it’s a pithy portrayal of the great american anti-hero, of both questioning and eventually submitting to authority.

    modern teenage angst should aspire to be so poignant and pointed.

  2. Hmm, that’s what I would write also, if I had to do a report on it for school. Anything can be made to sound nice, even a book on a misfit’s incoherent babble.

    (Actually, I partly agree with you, but I can’t admit that now, can I? I am more stubborn than a pig and a donkey and a two-year old combined.)

  3. I liked the character of the protagonist. I’d probably never meet someone like him and, if I did, probably not give him the time of day. To read this was to see the world from an alternative viewpoint and I appreciated that. It made me question my own.

    By the way, have you got a copy of Arukiyomi’s 1001 books spreadsheet?

Kommentera

 
